top of page
Search

Jessica Landry: Head over skates for hockey

Six tattoos, 17 jerseys, 210 games and over two decades of dedication. For 21-year-old, Jessica Landry, hockey has always been more than a sport.

Landry photographed inside the Bell Centre as the Habs played the Philidelphia Flyers on January 19th

“The game of hockey means everything to me,” said Landry. “I personally don’t know what I would do without it.”


Landry said she has been a fan of the Montreal Canadiens since the early years of her childhood. “I have to say it was mostly because of my cousin,” said Landry. “He would watch games religiously, no excuses whatsoever.”


After growing up admiring her cousin’s commitment to the Montreal Canadiens, Landry’s love for hockey grew with her. It wasn’t until her early teenage years that Landry started to realize the effects the sport had on her.


“I would genuinely get frustrated after losses and it would take me a whole day to get over it,” said Landry. “But it would also help me whenever I felt down… just knowing that hockey was on at night would make me feel better about whatever I was going through.”

With over 7,000 hockey fan followers on Twitter, Landry’s connection to the game has impacted her personal life.


“I’ve met so many people through hockey and I keep meeting new people everyday,” said Landry. “It is truly amazing what this sport can do.”


“I wish everyone would understand it,” said Landry, referring to her passion for hockey. “But they look at me like I’m some kind of crazy person.”


Landry's devotion to the coveted Quebec hockey team has reached a new level of permanence; the permanence of tattoo ink.


Landry’s first tattoo was of the Montreal Canadiens logo on her back at the age of 16. Over the course of five years, Landry has gotten five more tattoos related to the hockey team - a four in memorial of Jean Beliveau, a six in honour of current captain Shea Weber, and even Shea Weber's signature.


Including one dedicated to her favourite player and childhood hero, Saku Koivu, a former captain of the Montreal Canadiens and a player who battled and survived cancer during his hockey career. The word “sisu”, a Finnish word for courage, is tattooed on her left forearm.


Landry's tattoo dedicated to Saku Koivu

“He was a very special player to me,” said Landry. “His return from cancer marked so many people and I get the shivers every time I think or talk about it.”


“Saku is and always will be my favourite Montreal Canadien,” said Landry. “He is one player that I will never forget.”


According to Landry, this level of devotion is average for many fans of the Montreal Canadiens.


Entrance of the Bell Centre, home of the Montreal Canadiens

“Passionate is the best way to describe this fan base,” said Landry. “You don’t see this in every hockey city. There’s nothing like the Bell Centre filled with fans every single game night cheering on their favourite team. The energy in that building is surreal.”


“Hockey is not just a game,” said Landry. “It’s a way of life… I take this game very seriously.”


Landry continues to support the Montreal Canadiens for the remainder of the regular season and on reaching their goal of clinching a playoff spot this season.


“Hockey is my go to,” said Landry. “It occupies a huge place in my heart and I am so grateful for it.”

520 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page